« Please Help The Puppy Mill Pups | Main | LASIK for the Gold Makes Front Page of Daily Record! »

September 15, 2009

LASIK the Lineswoman!

OUTTA HERE! Serena Williams yells at a lineswoman (above) who called her for a foot fault during the second set of Williams' 6-4, 7-5 semifinal loss to Kim Clijsters last night at the U.S. Open. Williams points her racket at the line judge while arguing the call. Reuters, Getty Images.


This years US Open was very entertaining...  I will start this post by saying that there was no excuse for Serena William's outburst that ended her semifinal match with Kim Clijsters at the US Open this weekend.  Although she has since publicly apologized for her actions, there is very little discussion about the call itself. WIth the score 15-30 at a critical moment in the set, how could the unnamed lines-woman make a foot fault call unless it was blatant?  Video review has shown that it was a blown call, there was no foot fault!

According to Geoff MacDonald in his blog, Straight sets:

A foot fault occurs when the server touches the baseline or the court with either foot. Sometimes a player’s foot slides forward and touches the line inadvertently, and, because a player can’t see the rule violation, the foot-fault call provokes a lot of anger. Often the players’ frustration with themselves is then directed at the line official. For Serena Williams, who has been called for foot faults throughout her career, the call came at a critical moment in the match. Down by a set and serving at 5-6 and 15-30, the call on her second serve gave Kim Clijsters two match points.

Carol Cox, a veteran tennis official who evaluates line officials and referees for the United States Tennis Association, said there were two schools of thought on making a foot-fault call at a critical juncture in the match. “One philosophy is that it is a rule, and you call it when you see it,” Cox said. “The second way of thinking is more in line with a good N.B.A. official: You don’t make a call that can decide a match unless it’s flagrant.”

John McEnroe had a similar view to the N.B.A. comparison when he was commenting on the CBS broadcast on Saturday night. “You can’t call that there,” he said.

The Lines-woman, who remains nameless, blew the call.  Maybe her glasses fogged up before the call, distorting her vision, maybe she needs a new refraction and pair of glasses.  Regardless of the reason, this cannot happen again, Linesman should not be involved in the outcome of a semifinal match at a Grand Slam Event!  I hereby extend our LASIK the Refs offer:   I invite the Linesman to contact me at EyeCare 20/20 and come in for free LASIK surgery, so that she can make a proper call ot non-call in the future.

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00e55215d36f88340120a570a374970b

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference LASIK the Lineswoman! :

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Wow! Can't believe I get to be the first comment on that....I hope the line judge had Lasik so she could clearly see what a punk Serena William's is!

The comments to this entry are closed.